The Stages of Osteoarthritis of the Knee

27 million Americans are living with osteoarthritis. Unfortunately, this number is expected to climb to 67 million by 2030. As we work to improve this number, we wanted to educate our patients on the stages of osteoarthritis, how it develops, and how we treat the condition.

The Stages of Osteoarthritis

  • Stage 1

During stage 1, cartilage may be slightly damaged due to injury, wear and tear, or excessive stress. Patients may develop bone spur growth as a result. However, it’s unlikely you will feel any pain or discomfort.

  • Stage 2

The second stage of osteoarthritis occurs when cartilage begins to deteriorate, making the pain symptoms more noticeable after sitting for a long period of time. At this point, x-rays will begin to show signs of wear and tear.

  • Stage 3

Damage to the cartilage has progressed in the moderate stage 3. Pain becomes more noticeable during everyday activities, including walking, running, kneeling, and extending the knee. In addition to pain, there is obvious stiffness and joint inflammation.

  • Stage 4

In this severe stage, the joint space between the bones has narrowed, causing cartilage to even further deteriorate. Patients will experience great pain and discomfort when moving the joint. X-rays may show bones touching each other due to very little cartilage.

Knee Pain Treatment in Dallas, TX

Our medical professionals will give patients a comprehensive evaluation of the stages of osteoarthritis and perform the appropriate treatment to promote a quick and effective recovery for osteoarthritis of the knee. Our Innovative knee pain treatments will provide you with long-lasting pain relief. Whether you’re experiencing moderate or severe knee pain, call our knee treatment specialists today at (469) 399-5672.